Low Speed Internet
Thread poster: Valentine-Roy
Valentine-Roy
Valentine-Roy  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:55
English to French
+ ...
Jul 18, 2009

I will be moving to a rural area where only low speed Internet is offered.
I have a degree in translation and have done work in the past but now intend to make it my full time career. I am training myself to use WORDFAST (CAT).

Will the low speed connection raise major problems?

Thanks,
An almost newbie

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 07:55
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Not really Jul 18, 2009

ENIAD wrote:

Not really, but I would suggest using Gmail because you can see upfront whether there is a big file to download. Also don't be shy to tell clients that you can't accept large files.

FarkasAndras
FarkasAndras  Identity Verified
English to Hungarian
+ ...
How slow? Jul 18, 2009

ENIAD wrote:

I will be moving to a rural area where only low speed Internet is offered.
I have a degree in translation and have done work in the past but now intend to make it my full time career. I am training myself to use WORDFAST (CAT).

Thanks,
An almost newbie

If it's the good old telephone modem speed (52kbps I think) then doing your normal research and correspondence will be annyoingly slow, perhaps so much so that it will affect your productivity.
If the connection is unreliable as well as slow (weak signal on mobile internet, for example) then it could be a major problem. Of course it also depends to some extent on what kind of work you're planning on doing.

Stanislaw Czech, MCIL CL
Stanislaw Czech, MCIL CL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 06:55
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
I agree with Samuel Jul 19, 2009