https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/141371-becoming_a_freelance_translator_any_tips.html

Becoming a Freelance Translator... any tips?
Thread poster: lu82
lu82
lu82
Local time: 13:56
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 30, 2009

Hi people!
I am trying to figure out how I can stard to be a Freelance Translator. I don't have any experience in Translations as a job, I studied it at the University and I have a master in Techincal Translation, which I am not using (I am not working as a translator, even if I use languages on a daily basis). I think it's a pity and I would like to use my language skills, but I feel I should start from zero...and I don't know very well how... I guess there are many people who did this..
... See more
Hi people!
I am trying to figure out how I can stard to be a Freelance Translator. I don't have any experience in Translations as a job, I studied it at the University and I have a master in Techincal Translation, which I am not using (I am not working as a translator, even if I use languages on a daily basis). I think it's a pity and I would like to use my language skills, but I feel I should start from zero...and I don't know very well how... I guess there are many people who did this... so I am asking a piece of adivice!

Any help wil be much appreciated!

Have a lovely day!

Luisa
Collapse

Russell Jones
Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:56
Italian to English
First step Jul 30, 2009

Hi Luisa

Most importantly, you have found the right site to get you started.
However, as you can imagine many people - maybe hundreds - have asked the same sort of question here.
Your first step is to spend some time reading previous threads in this "Getting Established" section. Then you will be in a much better position to ask pertinent questions and get some really specific advice from other users.
Welcome to the profession and good luck.

Sonja Köppen
Sonja Köppen  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2008)
English to German