Expert with a translation business, or translator with another full-time activity ?
Thread poster: Michael Mestre

Michael Mestre
France
Local time: 23:33
English to French
+ ...
Aug 2, 2009

Dear colleagues,

I have a PhD in physics (optics and atomic physics). I am currently employed as a postdoctoral research fellow, which means that I am doing research 'full-time' - with reasonable working hours.
I am also a freelance translator ; I have a small number of regular clients, and I am happy to spend a significant portion of my free time translating.

I have an official status as a translator in France which enables me to be registered as a company, send invoice to clients and pay taxes legally.

For a number of reasons (love of foreign languages and translation, intercultural marriage, life between different countries), I wish to develop my translation business up to the point where I can actually work full-time between my research contracts.

I have to admit that this creates a small marketing problem. Potential clients may not understand what category of professional I am :
-"Is this person a good researcher earning pocket money as an amateur (=bad) translator ?"
-"Is he a full-time translator with a scientific background who gave up research at one point ?"
-"Will he be able to deliver the result that we expect if we give him a translation project ?"

Until now, on my ProZ profile as well as my CV, I had avoided the problem by not writing explicitely "full-time researcher" nor "part-time translator".
I am now creating a website for my translation activities, and this gives me an opportunity to ponder my marketing strategy.