Income Tax and VAT in Portugal
Thread poster: Christopher Fitzsimons

Christopher Fitzsimons
Switzerland
Local time: 16:19
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Aug 13, 2009

Hi everyone, I just have a query regarding setting up as a freelancer in Portugal. I translate into English(I'm Irish/British)from Iberian languages and French and have recently relocated to Portugal from the UK for various personal and professional reasons. I have a degree in Portuguese and have spent a lot of time here before but have not worked in Portugal previously. I have been here for one month and have managed to set up a bank account and now have a numero de contribuinte(national insurance number). My query isn't really regarding setting up/finding work/getting established in general but is more specific to the Portuguese Tax system. I have visited the Financas & Portal do Cidadao websites to learn about the tax system but wanted to get the opinion/experience/advice of freelance translators living and working in Portugal regarding tax issues.

What I am especially confused about is: 1. whether I need to charge VAT to my clients. The majority of my clients are here in Portugal or in the UK and a few are in the other Western European countries where my source languages are spoken(France, Spain). So they are all EU clients and most are Eurozone also. I have read conflicting messages about the system. On a previous Proz.com forum post I read that: "By Portuguese Tax Law you have to charge VAT (19%) in all jobs you perform for clients located in Portugal. If you work in Portugal and your client is also located in Portugal you have to charge 19% VAT... If you work for clients either in Europe or outside Europe you don't charge VAT. "

Is this true and if so is there any kind of VAT threshold? I.e. Do I only charge my Portuguese clients VAT depending on how much I am personally earning? I have read that until I earn 10000 Euros in the tax year I don't charge VAT and above this amount I do.