Branching out - writing/publishing a dictionary
Thread poster: Kelly Bennett

Kelly Bennett  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:55
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 17, 2009

I wonder if anyone has any advice about dictionary writing/publishing?

I have experience in creating my own glossaries from other sources, and considerable experience in translating dictionary definitions for multilingual editions, but I am interested in branching out on my own and writing a field specific bi (or multi) lingual dictionary.

I'm interested in knowing the legalities of copyright (can I include terms and definitions from glossaries found on the net?) and above all I'm interested in knowing at what stage and how (under what conditions) do I contact a publishing company.

Any advice would be most welcome.

Thanks

ViktoriaG  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 03:55
English to French
+ ...
Copyright Nov 17, 2009

I have no experience in dictionary writing/publishing, but as far as the copyright issue goes, as far as I know, nobody holds the copyright to any word in any language. Of course, don't copy the definitions and other text--write your own instead. Also, technically speaking, a dictionary isn't a literary work but rather a reference book. As such, even if you used slogans and brands under copyright, you wouldn't be violating copyright, as you would only be writing about those slogans and brands and not actually using them.