Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Does being a ProZ.com member really help in getting new jobs?
Thread poster: Lucas Rayel

Lucas Rayel  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 22:46
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Nov 18, 2009

Hello all,

I'm about to sign up Proz membership but I'd like to know if it really helps on getting new jobs? I say it cause I'm a translator for 4 years and I think I could get much more work than I get nowadays, and Proz is one of the ways I've found...

So... Have you experienced a higher demand of projects after becoming a Proz member?

Thank you in advance,

Lucas Rayel

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-11-18 14:29 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Karol Kacprzak  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 02:46
English to Polish
+ ...
Definitely yes Nov 18, 2009

Honestly, the membership paid off in the first month in my case.

[Edited at 2009-11-18 09:57 GMT]

Hynek Palatin  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech
+ ...
Being a ProZ member makes you more visible Nov 18, 2009

Lucas,

Most of the jobs are awarded directly, bypassing the bidding system. What is your current position in the directory of EN-PT translators specialized in Mechanics? Here is a shortened link: http://bit.ly/4eFakw

Being a member and answering just 7 KudoZ questions in this field will put you on page 1.

[Edited at 2009-11-18 10:23 GMT]

Natasha Dupuy  Identity Verified
France
French to English
Not a miracle solution Nov 18, 2009

Hi Lucas,

Work will not miraculously find its way to your inbox just because you become a Proz member.
Proz membership will improve your ranking in the translator directory, but other factors come into play.
I used to get contacted a lot when I participated actively in Kudoz: winning points improves your ranking.