What rate should I charge as someone starting out
Thread poster: Mike Alizade

Mike Alizade
Local time: 21:41
German to English
+ ...
Jan 18, 2010

Hi All

I'm starting out doing German to English translations and am wondering what rate I should be charging. I've done a fair bit of research into this and all I've managed to discover is that it should be between roughly £0.06 to £0.20 per word. As I have no commercial experience as yet and am obviously trying to get established, I'm thinking that £0.10 per word would be a good place to start. Would you say that this is low enough to attract clients but not too low to scare them away. Also should I be quoting in Euros or pounds?

Many thanks for your help

Mike

Ramon Somoza  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 22:41
Member (2002)
Dutch to Spanish
+ ...
It depends Jan 18, 2010

The very first thing you should know is your market, and how much work you will get in that market. Your specialty is also important, you can charge more if you work on difficult topics (medicine, aerospace, etc.).

For example, in Spain it is quite typical to pay 0.06€/word for that language combination. That is one reason way I avoid that market, even if I am based in Spain - my rates are higher than that, hence that I mainly work for European & US companies.

You should also consider the source of the price range you mention. £0.06 looks reasonably low for the UK, £0.20 per word (0.22€/word) looks far too much for the market. I'd say that anything over £0.15 (0.17€) per word for this language combination is likely to be dismissed as absurd, and this top price would be paid only in exceptional cases.

As a translator without previous experience, £0.10/word seems far too high to me. With 33 years of experience I charge 0.10€/word (£0.09/word). (But if you get a lot of work at that rate & want to subcontract making a benefit, please do not hesitate to contact me).