Breaking through - how do I find work?
Thread poster: Sandra Stein

Sandra Stein
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:31
English to Portuguese
Apr 5, 2010

Hi guys hope you are well,

Im a student at the Westminister University for the Diploma in Translation (DIP trans), currently I'm getting more and more involved with translation environment by the memberships have taken part.
At the moment I'm applying tirelessly for volunteer works, proofreader and in-house positions, though the lack of demand of Portuguese work has been letting me down and also the absence of response bac from companies and institutions I apply to.

What should I do? Any advice or opinion will be welcomed.

Thanks a lot,

Sandra Stein

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
My advice, for what it's worth Apr 5, 2010

Sandra Stein wrote:
What should I do? Any advice or opinion will be welcomed.

Hello Sandra,

I suggest you start by reading every thread in this forum for the past couple of years, taking note of every bit of information that could apply to you.

When you've done that, if you have any specific questions or observations, post them here.

Good luck.

Sheila

philgoddard
United States
Member (2009)
German to English
+ ...
This was posted just yesterday, for example... Apr 5, 2010

http://www.proz.com/forum/marketing_for_translators/161939-what_does_a_new_translator_have_to_do_to_find_work.html

Andrei Yefimov  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 17:31
English to Russian
+ ...
query Apr 5, 2010

Hi Sandra,

If you drop me a line through Proz, I think I could refer you to someone who can supply you with translation/editing work on a volunteer basis.

Paula Borges  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 13:31
Member (2010)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Just a few observations Apr 5, 2010

It is great that you are studying for the Diptrans, once you've passed this certainly will help you. I intend to do it next year, but haven't had the time to begin studying yet!