How to become a translator?
Thread poster: sperinka
Apr 27, 2010

Hi all,

I am a 31 years old French guy who is just tired of his current job and would like to become a translator. I have some questions for you that hopefully will help me avoid the beginner´s mistakes and provide me with some useful tips. First of all, I have no translation degree. I lived and worked in the US and in Spain for several years, and I have basically the same level in English, Spanish and Czech ( I have both French and Czech nationality).
Well so here are my questions:
- What do you reckon would be the best language combination for me? I am sure that finding documents to translate from English to French is the easiest. But maybe the Czech to French combination is less common and therefore more seeked?
- I guess that since I have no experience in the translation field, the best way to start is getting a degree. What online degree would you recommend? ... I would like to start working on this while keeping my regular job.

Well, I obviously have many more questions but let´s start with these ones and see where it leads me.
If you have any random tip for me, I am all ears.

Thanks a lot for your help.
Sebastien

Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 21:48
Italian to English
Lots of info in the forums already Apr 27, 2010

http://wiki.proz.com/wiki/index.php/Establishing_yourself_as_a_freelance_translator

Latin_Hellas (X)
United States
Italian to English
+ ...
What is your current experience? Contacts? Apr 28, 2010

sperinka wrote:

- I guess that since I have no experience in the translation field, the best way to start is getting a degree. What online degree would you recommend? ... I would like to start working on this while keeping my regular job.

If you have any random tip for me, I am all ears.

First random tip: revenue - expenses = net income

Why pay for a degree when your experience and contacts may already potentially pay you?