How to get from degree holder to freelance translator?
Thread poster: Kelly Francis

Kelly Francis
Local time: 17:44
French to English
+ ...
Jul 28, 2010

hi all,

I have a degree in French and spanish and most of my professional experience has been in the field of teaching (French, English and Literature). I would love to do literary translation but i understand that it could be a difficult market and work may not be as frequent as say in business or advertising.

Recently I have left teaching and decided to become a freelance translator but most of the jobs I see require accreditation and experience neither of which i possess. I would definitely love to do the IOL dip trans as a means of becoming accredited but lack funds at the moment. Is there anyway that I can utilise my degree while waiting to become accredited?

Furthermore most jobs require quotes and as a beginner I have no idea how to do this, any help on these matters would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Sandrine Ananie  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:44
Member (2009)
English to French
As everybody will tell you... Jul 28, 2010

Read the "Getting Established" forum. You'll find tons of useful information there. Don't rush into freelancing, tempted as you may be to try and earn some cash. Read, read, read, so you can understand how the market works and devise your marketing strategy. Don't be afraid to PM future colleagues who have been in a similar situation as yours to ask them for precise advice; I did and never regretted it.