What information should be included in invoices?
Thread poster: xxxBenk
xxxBenk
Japanese to English
Nov 26, 2010

Hi everyone,

I am new to translating, but I have been getting a few jobs. Now I have been told that I will need to send invoices to get payment. I was wondering if anyone could tell what kind of information should be included on the invoice. Is there anything that must be included. Can I just draw up an invoice form myself or should I get one from somewhere?

Living in Japan I also need to send invoices in Japanese, does anyone know if this would be the same information as for invoices in English?

Thanks for any help.

Direct link Reply with quote

JaneAlison  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 06:01
French to English
An invoice depends on the country in which it is established Nov 26, 2010

What you need to include will depend on Japanese law. The obvious items are your name adress etc a registration number for your business if you have one, any taxes that may apply (such as the Value Added Tax in the EU). The basis on which you quoted for the work ie how much per word/per hour and the number of words or hours. How you wish to be paid, if by cheque who the cheque should be payable to, if by bank transfer the details of your bank, if by PayPal your PayPal account. When you should be paid by, again this should have been specified in the original quote for the work.

The ideal would be to find a Japanese invoice and copy it.

kind regards

Lucia Leszinsky
SITE STAFF
ProZ.com invoicing for translators Nov 26, 2010

Hello Benk,

Maybe you would like to try ProZ.com invoicing tool to see the type of information that is generally included in invoices, https://www.proz.com/invoice/try

You can create, send, and track online up to 5 invoices to see how the tool works. For unlimited access to invoices, you must become a ProZ.com member.

I am sure colleagues will have more ideas as to what you should include in language-specific invoices too.