Obtaining direct clients
Thread poster: Jessie Nelson

Jessie Nelson  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:57
French to English
Jan 10, 2011

Hello everyone,
I have heard people say repeatedly that they have direct clients.

I know it is probably as a result of networking, but I am a solo practitioner, and don't
have relationships with businesses. Believe me I would try to use the connection if I could.

Does one just send off letters and resumes to companies, and if so how do you find out what companies use translators.

I am a medical translator and have been working with agencies, but I find them increasingly demanding as to turn around.

thanks in advance.

Jesse

Direct link Reply with quote

Sergei Tumanov  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:57
English to Russian
+ ...
visit trade fairs Jan 10, 2011

and
give ads in newspapers and magazines
and
participate in conventions

[Edited at 2011-01-11 08:36 GMT]

Eid Ibrahim  Identity Verified
Egypt
Local time: 06:57
English to Arabic
+ ...
Achieve thes competencies and you'll never want Jan 11, 2011

By the way; it is a very good question.
How to attract direct clients? It's our dream all.
first of all be assured to have five competences:
Search competence
translation competence
linguistic competence
technical competence
cultural competence

when you get these; try to adopt a very good marketting policy,
by which you'll have the chance to get closer to the clients.
participate in translation bodies, be professionally developed comntinuously,
have a very good internet site, hire some people to market you.

I think these will work.
Thanks
Eid Ibrahim
EN15038 certified translator

xxxNMR
France
French to Dutch
+ ...
Big companies Jan 11, 2011