Looking for Volunteer Translation Opportunities
Thread poster: Erin Summers

Erin Summers

Local time: 06:57
French to English
Feb 1, 2011

I am looking to do some volunteer translation work (French to English) in order to gain some experience as I am just starting out on a new career path.
Does anyone know of any NGOs or other organizations that I could contact?
Thank you!

Krzysztof Pawliszak
Poland
Local time: 12:57
English to Polish
+ ...
GV Feb 1, 2011

Hi Erin,

I think one of the best opportunities gives Global Voices (globalvoicesonline.org). There is Lingua French project and they need ENFR volunteer translators. Have a look!

Krzysztof

Henry Dotterer
Local time: 06:57
SITE FOUNDER
Translators Without Borders Feb 1, 2011

Check out Translators Without Borders:
http://tsf.eurotexte.fr/

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:57
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
No listing on ProZ? Feb 1, 2011

Henry Dotterer wrote:

Hello Henry,

Is there nowhere on the site for NGOs to list their requirements? I'm surprised that it isn't a search field on the comapies' directory.

Sheila

armagankilci
Local time: 13:57
Turkish to English
+ ...
TED: Ideas worth spreading Feb 1, 2011

Hello Erin,

I'd suggest you to check out TED Open Translation Project. I am not sure if it corresponds to the definition of what we understand of NGO. However, its aim is to enrich the awareness on topics like poverty, nuclear pollution, sustainable food, mental rigidness, and etc. For me, it expands the notion of NGO. I can define it as a virtual NGO, based on a visual database.

Several scholars, wannabee's, enthusiasts all over the world come together and discuss the
... See more
Hello Erin,