Using your hobbys, alter egos or side-projects as source of specialization
Thread poster: Luis Mondragón

Luis Mondragón  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 05:08
German to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 9, 2011

For a long time I have had this wrong notion about keeping my activities separated. I work as a translator, proof reader and research assistant. I mention all my publishing and translation related work in my CV's and profiles, but there is one important aspect of my life that I never mention, because I've thought of it as being "not serious".

I translate during the day. But after 9:00 p.m. I'm DJ'ing or making electronic music. I have always thought that it is kind of strange to have two such different, "unrelated" activities.

But today I was watching this very interesting video of the NYU continuing education department about "The Business of Translation"

http://www.scps.nyu.edu/areas-of-study/foreign-languages/continuing-education/multimedia.html

and the (very smart) presenter was talking about specialties. I know how important and crucial are specialties for the development of a translation career, so I was thinking, "what else should I list in my areas of expertise? Ahm... don't know..." And then suddenly I understood that I have failed to integrate my knowledge of music technology into my possible work fields!

I translate from German. Coincidentally, state of the art software and hardware for DJ's and electronic music producers comes from Germany. There are many important German manufacturers of music technology products, which I happen to know very, very well, because I've worked with such tools on a daily basis for 5, 6 years. I also read a lot in German about music technology.