Help: Freelancing, self-employed, registration...aso
Thread poster: Verena H

Verena H
Local time: 20:11
English to German
Feb 14, 2011

Hello everybody!
My name is Verena and I am totally new in the freelancing business.
I am currently unemployed but I work as a volunteer translator for different charity organisations.
I want to get started as a freelance translator.
I need some help concerning the process of freelancing, how it is with taxes, insurances...aso.

Do I need to register myself as a freelancer? If so, do I have to do it right know before I even got a task?
I had a look at different websites but still, I am confused.
Also concerning National Insurance; I read about the possibility to register as self-employed with a low income, would you recommend that for the beginning?
Is freelancing the exact same thing as self-employed?

I am so sorry if my questions might be confusing but that’s exactly how I am feeling right now.
So I am grateful for any advice or help.
Thank you so much in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

Mary Lalevee  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
French to English
Registering with HM Revenue and Customs Feb 14, 2011

Hallo Verena,

it is very easy to become self-employed. For us translators, we use "Freelance" to mean " independent", pretty much the same thing.

I recomend you contact your local Revenue and Customs office. When I first started here in the UK, I attended a one-day course they offered for newly-self-employed people. very helpful.

Basically, you need to register with R&C within 3 months (or it was 3 months, you should check) of starting work as a self-employed professional. You can register by phone (amazing but true!!). You can start work before registering.

You will need to pay National Insurance contributions of approx £8 a week as from your registration.