Finding direct clients
Thread poster: xxxjenbikkal

xxxjenbikkal

Local time: 20:28
French to English
+ ...
Mar 15, 2011

Hi everyone,

I am new to the business and was wondering how to approach direct clients. From what I understand, they pay better and working with them is also more convenient in terms any questions we may have regarding a project.

For ten years I worked in advertising/marketing and I would love to be able to specialize in this field and work directly with ad agencies or even with company's marketing departments.

So I have a couple of questions for you:

1)What percentage of your clients are direct clients (non agency clients)

2)How did you approach them?

3)How much regular work do you get from them?

4)Any original ideas/tips on how to approach them aside from social media, trade events...

Thanks everyone!

-Jen

[Edited at 2011-03-15 00:34 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 02:28
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Not necessarily true Mar 15, 2011

jenbikkal wrote:
I am new to the business and was wondering how to approach direct clients. From what I understand, they pay better and working with them is also more convenient in terms any questions we may have regarding a project.

I just wanted to point out that the sentence above is not necessarily true.

Agencies will give you a more stable flow of work if you become their preferred translator (i.e. if you give them a good service experience and your translations are accurate and good), and dealing with them is far more comfortable since you reduce paperwork and you deal with people who know the end customer and how to resolve issues. If the end customer does not respond on time, they can also decide and tell you what to do.

Also, agencies usually have a systematic approach to projects, which you can learn and integrate in your own processes and offer the opportunity to streamline things.