Three years part time, now looking for more work. How?
Thread poster: Quentin N.

Quentin N.
English to French
Mar 15, 2011

Hello all,

I am humbly seeking your enlighted wisdom: I have been working as a freelance translator for three years now, part time, and am now looking to enlarge my customer base. However, I could greatly use your advice on how to proceed.

First of all, I am an English to French translator, which I understand, is not the least common language pair, therefore exposing me to a difficult market to enter. This being said, what is the best strategy to "get to" agencies? My strategy pretty much consists of spending a whole day drawing up a list of around 50+ recrutement email adresses and sending an email to all these agencies summarising my experience, rates, fields and translation software, to which I joined a CV that included the details and references, however this hasn't been potently successful so far and have not received many positive responses.

Which agencies/type of agencies should I target (size, country, etc...)? Moreover, are my rates acceptable? I offer general rates of €0.07/words and €0.08/words for financial/technical translations, although I avoid to go lower than this as I do not want to be seen as a discount translator and for solidarity and fair competition for other translators.

Im not expecting to receive a positive reply from every single agency I get in touch with, I am just wondering which methods you would recommend to have, I dunno, 5 positive replies per 100 emails sent?

Thanks as lot, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

PS: I have seen that some translation agencies offer freelance translators to send their resume/cover letter to their list of something-thousand "partner" agencies by paying a €50-100 fee. Is it worth it? Does this kind of approach actually work?

[Edited at 2011-03-16 09:37 GMT]

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 20:07
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...