Thread poster: dafnay

dafnay
France
Local time: 22:45
Polish to French
+ ...
Apr 17, 2011

Hello everyone , before getting into serious businnes I'll introduce myself :

My name is Keller Rafal , Im 21 years old and I live in Lyon , France.
As you can see from my first name , I was born in Poland and lived there until I was 8 years old.
After that I followed french school and entered at a famous "international" highschool reserved only for bilingual students.
I studied there normal french subjects and polish ones like every other student in Poland , and at the age of 18 I was able to pass the french Bachelor and the polish one in that highschool.

That experience gave me the opportunity to speak and write in polish and english at a very good level , of course lots of technical words are still unknow for me.

But still , some people talked me about trying to get into translation , and it seems Im starting here and now.

Living in France , Ive no idea which diploma I need to get , only thing Ive heard is that you need some highschool master or something like that , but with my law studies I cant do both ...

Other problem is that a lot of schools offers translating lessons from enhlish to french or vice versa , or Im looking for polish/french , and the demand dont look very high for those languages , hope I'm wrong.

Currently after some exams I'll have some free time ( even if I have small job ) and I'd like to offer my services but I just dont know where to start , maybe some free translations , but still hard to find between french and polish.

Maybe more experienced people know some websites and with their advices can make things more crystal clear for me.

PS : dont hesitate to correct my english mistakes , hope you wont find much of them.

Nikki Scott-Despaigne  Identity Verified
French to English
Where to start... Apr 17, 2011

Being bilingual is great and as you know only too well yourself, it is only part of the picture.