What are the usual rates for German to English?
Thread poster: Himach

Himach
Local time: 12:50
German to English
+ ...
May 4, 2011

I have done quite a few translations during my college days and used help my mother with several of them.German-English.I am now a Medical doctor,trying to change profession.Wonder what the rates for translation from German to English are over the world these days.Wonder if anyboby can advise me about getting myself established in the field.

Thanks

Norbert Hermann  Identity Verified
English to German
+ ...
over the world... May 4, 2011

0.01 to 0.5 per word

Himach
German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Beg your pardon May 4, 2011

Sorry, I don't understand. 0.01 -0.5 of what per word. Cents,pence,dollars,pounds?

Woodstock  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:50
German to English
+ ...
Please don't take this unkindly, May 4, 2011

but as constructive advice.

First of all, it would behoove you to take more care with your writing. There are several grammatical and stylistic errors in just your few sentences here. That would be a first step to getting taken seriously as a translator. Being able to communicate effectively and correctly is critical in this field.

Secondly, rates depend on who your clients are. With a medical specialization, you could command better than average prices in many cases.
... See more
but as constructive advice.

First of all, it would behoove you to take more care with your writing. There are several grammatical and stylistic errors in just your few sentences here. That would be a first step to getting taken seriously as a translator. Being able to communicate effectively and correctly is critical in this field.