Working for agency (liability of the freelancer)
Thread poster: xxxmaryse54321
xxxmaryse54321
Jul 6, 2011

Hi,

I am new to the freelance industry and I am wondering about liability when working for an agency.

(I am sorry if this has been asked in the past, there are so many different subjects in the forum, I could not find what I was looking for)

But I read in an article that a translator should establish the following when working for an agency:

Product Liability

If you work for an agency, then you have a contract solely with them. This means you are in no way liable to their customers. If an operator cuts off a finger at a machine because your translation is faulty, then the agency is the first in the line of fire, not you. You are, of course, second in the line of fire. There are some ways you can limit your liability here. One is to write-up some Standard Business Conditions (in German these are the infamous AGB's - allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen). Such conditions can be used to severely limit your liability. These are in fact helpful no matter who you are working for. Every freelancer should have some. Make sure that you send your conditions to all of your employers.

Using Standard Business Conditions (AGB') to Limit Liability

Generally, you should include the following in your conditions:
1. Limit your liability to the maximum amount of the contract, and not a penny more.
2. Explicitly exclude any extra liability either arising from late completion or defective work.
3. Use your Conditions to clearly delimit what belongs to a contract and what doesn't. Many customers/agencies tend to think of "additions" to a text as belonging to the same contract. Make it clear that any such additions always constitute a new and unique contract, except when otherwise explicitly agreed upon (or when it is obvious).
4. Use your Conditions to reserve the right to have suitable time to correct work the customer views as unsatisfactory.