Thread poster: Luke Mersh

Luke Mersh  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:10
Spanish to English
Sep 11, 2011

Hi there everybody.

I am a DPSI student studying healthcare in the pairs of EN>ES ES>EN

I have done voluntary translations for the UN-CRIN .

I am wishing to know peoples advice on the following matter.

I am wanting to get started as a translator in EN>ES and ES>EN in healthcare field,
I am thinking about creating a website to get some work and was also wondering whether it would be worth it to become a member of this site and whether it would bring me some work.

I am fluent in both written and oral Spanish as I was educated there up to Bachillerato level.

I would like to know what other would suggest to me or what advice they can offer me.

all advice is well received.

Direct link Reply with quote

Martina Pokupec  Identity Verified
Croatia
Local time: 04:10
English to Croatian
+ ...
join Sep 11, 2011

Hi,

I suggest you join Proz. I've been a member for less than a year and have established good business relationships.
My advice is to stick to the language you are really good at, and to the specialty you are good at (healthcare). As a paying member, you can also get excellent advice on setting up your profile from Proz staff.

Good luck!

United Kingdom
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Advice needed- feedback wanted Sep 11, 2011

hi there
thank you very much for your advice, as i stated i am studying interpreting, but i would like to do some small translation jobs for people.
My current plan is to complete me DPSI this year and then next year do the DIPTRANS in the same language pair.

As I have said my speciality will be healthcare in English>Spanish and Spanish to English.

How would i go about getting some clients and work.

regards

Martina Pokupec  Identity Verified
Croatia
Local time: 04:10
English to Croatian
+ ...
getting clients Sep 12, 2011