Thread poster: norwegianblue

norwegianblue  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:35
English to Polish
+ ...
Sep 12, 2011

Hi all

there are a couple of books that I would like to translate from English to Polish. Needless to say I'm a total beginner in this respect and need advice from more experienced colleagues.

My original idea was to translate the books, and then find a publishing house in Poland that would be interested in publishing it (I live in the UK).

But then the more I think about it, the more doubts I have: should I contact the original publishing house first? Who takes care of copyrights? Should I contact a publishing house in Poland first and present the idea?

I would much appreciate any suggestions from someone who knowsicon_smile.gif

Take care
Agnieszka

Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
How about this? Sep 12, 2011

I've worked quite a bit with publishing houses. The way they do it is: they prepare a leaflet and other info about the proposed book, perhaps with a couple of sample chapters already translated, and a description of what the book will be about, why it deserves to be published, and why it will sell. This description should follow the standard "book proposal" format all publishers recognise.

Then you have to attend one of the more important international book fairs, and go round the stands talking to the publishers about your proposal. In the UK it's the London Book Fair but if you are proposing to publish in Polish you would need to go to the equivalent Book Fair in Poland.

Alternatively you could look for a literary agent of the appropriate kind, and they will do all this for you (they'll want to be paid, of course) and will make sure you get a good deal in the shark-infested waters that are the publishing world.