Newbie question: What to do when we get a job?
Thread poster: Abd Rahman
Abd Rahman

Local time: 07:36
Malay to English
+ ...
Oct 19, 2011

Hi there, I'm still new to this. I got my first job and it's just a 6 words for a signboard! Anyway, I don't plan to bill the client on this, but is it usual for translators to bill client even for 6 words? Also, must there always be a PO as I noticed there is a column for PO# in the invoice. Where to I read about the steps one must take once one gets a new job? Sorry... a bit blank.

Direct link Reply with quote

Alex Lago  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 00:36
Member (2009)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Some thiings to bear in mind Oct 19, 2011

1.- There should always be a signed contract (if with an end-client it should be your contract, if with an agency it will usually be their contract), if it is going to be a recurring client, you can sign a contract which covers all future jobs, this is always the case with agencies. The contract should include things like rate, delivery date, delivery format, payment terms, penalties for late payments, dispute resolution mechanism, etc.

2.- If working with an agency there should be a PO (no need for PO with end client, the contract serves as your PO). The PO will give the details of the job, such as languages, rate, deadline, etc.

3.- You need to have a minimum rate you charge regardless of project size. I personally make it the equivalent of 30 minutes of my time.

SBlack
French to English
+ ...
Never work for free Oct 19, 2011

Welcome to the profession.

Set a minimum fee precisely for jobs like these. Check out some profiles for ideas of an acceptable minimum fee.

PO means purchase order, and you do not prepare it: the agency does. Do not work without a purchase order, which is your contract with the agency proving they agreed to your price estimate and payment terms. If you have no PO, you cannot sue a non-paying agency for payment.