https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/21159-job_satisfaction_for_freelancers.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Job satisfaction for freelancers?
Thread poster: TCanfield
TCanfield
TCanfield
French to English
May 12, 2004

After working for more than seven years in the IT industry as a systems administrator, I'm considering changing to a less Dilbert-like career. I write a great deal of technical material in my job already - documents for end-users and for other analysts, proposals for management, that sort of thing - and read French fluently; in fact, whenever they're available, I use the French-language versions of the m... See more
After working for more than seven years in the IT industry as a systems administrator, I'm considering changing to a less Dilbert-like career. I write a great deal of technical material in my job already - documents for end-users and for other analysts, proposals for management, that sort of thing - and read French fluently; in fact, whenever they're available, I use the French-language versions of the manuals for the software and hardware I support. I suspect that I could translate technical material of the sort I already write in English.

However, I don't know any freelance translators, and I'd like to know more about the day-to-day work before I quit my job and enroll in a translation program. In particular, these are the kinds of questions I have:

• How much of your time do you spend translating, as opposed to sending out updated resumes to agencies, chasing non-paying clients, and the like?
  • Everyone has difficult customers - slow to pay, asking for a lot of changes on short notice - but are they a large or small proportion of your customer base?
  • How much of your work is done on short deadlines?
  • How many hours a week do you typically work? About forty? A lot more? A lot more some weeks and a lot less others?