Thread poster: adpace

adpace
United States
Local time: 23:37
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 12, 2004

Hi!

I am a school teacher, and I must say that I don't enjoy my job very much. Sadly, students become more difficult to deal with everyday. I have been teaching Spanish for the last three years, and have found that I enjoy translating. I really would like to work my way into translating full-time. I just don't know exactly where to start. I have put in some bids on websites like this one, but have done few projects.

Does anyone have any suggestions on a good book or two that has information on how to get started? I'm NOT looking for textbooks or courses. Rather, I want some practical reading and advice. Any additional advice for someone who is just starting out would be appreciated, as well. Thanks,

Angela

Direct link Reply with quote

GoodWords  Identity Verified
Mexico
Spanish to English
+ ...
Some good books to get started with May 12, 2004

On the translation business:

Becoming a Translator: An Accelerated Course by Doug Robinson
How to Earn $80,000+ Per Year as a Freelance Translator by Alex Eames. (Don't be put off by the the lurid sales pitch; this book is the best of its kind that I have seen.)

On Spanish-to-English translation:
Introduction to Spanish Translation by Jack Child
Thinking Spanish Translation: A Course in Translation Method, Spanish to English by Sandor G. J. Hervey, Ian Higgins and Louise M. Haywood
Teaching Translation from Spanish to English: Worlds Beyond Words by Alison Beeby Lonsdale.

[Edited at 2004-05-12 03:12]

Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:37
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
Contact local translation agencies May 12, 2004