Less demanded languages - how to market oneself
Thread poster: vorloff
vorloff
vorloff
Bosnian to English
+ ...
May 14, 2004

I am a native English translator working from Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian into English. I have been working for the translation department of an international organization for the past few years, and am now switching to freelancing. Do any of you have any advice about how to market my services, considering that many agencies have never had a project for these languages (so simply sending mass mailings might be a waste of time). I would appreciate any advice you might have, especially related to cli... See more
I am a native English translator working from Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian into English. I have been working for the translation department of an international organization for the past few years, and am now switching to freelancing. Do any of you have any advice about how to market my services, considering that many agencies have never had a project for these languages (so simply sending mass mailings might be a waste of time). I would appreciate any advice you might have, especially related to clients who specifically have a need for native English translators, as opposed to those simply looking for the lowest rates/bids.

Thanks in advance!!
Collapse

Harry Bornemann
Harry Bornemann  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 17:54
English to German
+ ...
Embassies May 16, 2004

There should be embassies even for the smallest countries. Their own demand may be little, but they will know companies being active in that language direction.

Another approach: Google in connection with imagination seems to be an inexhaustible ressource.

nordiste
nordiste  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 01:54
English to French
+ ...
Tourist offices and Chambers of COmmerce in Eastern Europe, Records companies ... May 16, 2004

Hi,