https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/217181-getting_started_is_freelance_translator_a_work_life_balance_work.html

Getting started: is freelance translator a work life balance work?
Thread poster: Toni-Fisher
Toni-Fisher
Toni-Fisher
Local time: 14:59
English to Chinese
Jan 29, 2012

Hi all,

I am new to this forum and in the translation business, even I though I got my translation degree in 2008.

I am from Hong Kong, currently looking for day job, while considering starting my second career as freelance translator (English to Chinese). The reason is, I am thinking to be a stay at home mom once I have kid (not now) while my hubby would like me continue to work (due to financial reason). Being a freelancer seems a solution to this situation for I can
... See more
Hi all,

I am new to this forum and in the translation business, even I though I got my translation degree in 2008.

I am from Hong Kong, currently looking for day job, while considering starting my second career as freelance translator (English to Chinese). The reason is, I am thinking to be a stay at home mom once I have kid (not now) while my hubby would like me continue to work (due to financial reason). Being a freelancer seems a solution to this situation for I can work at home.

I had done some volunteer translation before but never work on paid project. I plan to use my job hunting period to learn translation software, while look for volunteer project again for gaining experience. At the same time I am learning German for hobby, but still at very basic level.

Is anyone here can share his/her experience of switching from full time employee to a freelancer? Is the transition hard? Or work as freelancer is not so "work life balance" as I imagine?

Thanks in advance!

Toni
Collapse

Williamson
Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:59
Flemish to English
+ ...
Work-life-balance? Jan 29, 2012

Toni-Fisher wrote: