Thread poster: Luke Mersh
Luke Mersh
Luke Mersh  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:06
Spanish to English
Feb 16, 2012

Hi there.
I am looking for advice, I am a Public Service Interpreter student, preparing for my DPSI exam.
Due to a family bereavement I will be moving abroad but would like to start to do translations from home, as to not loose touch with my studies, but I would like some advice on starting out, as I am not a professional translator.
would it be wise to become a paying member on Proz ? as I am not a translator, but do have some experience in translating as I have done translat
... See more
Hi there.
I am looking for advice, I am a Public Service Interpreter student, preparing for my DPSI exam.
Due to a family bereavement I will be moving abroad but would like to start to do translations from home, as to not loose touch with my studies, but I would like some advice on starting out, as I am not a professional translator.
would it be wise to become a paying member on Proz ? as I am not a translator, but do have some experience in translating as I have done translations for the U.N and a NGO.

I continually translate documents at home from English to Spanish and back.

But would like some sound advice on this matter.
regards
luke

[Edited at 2012-02-16 21:51 GMT]

[Edited at 2012-02-17 04:05 GMT]
Collapse

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 18:06
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
I found it was worth it Feb 16, 2012

Hello Luke, and sorry to hear about the bereavement.

I have a few reservations about saying yes, it helps to become a paying member, but I certainly found that it did.

The advantages of being a member come when you make yourself more visible, and paying does get you higher up the list - or strictly onto a different list - in the directories.

There are other ways to make yourself visible - some of them free.
Ask your NGO and if possible some
... See more