https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/2191-living_in_ny_or_georgetown_suggestions_please.html

Living in NY or Georgetown (suggestions, please)
Thread poster: Teresa Duran-Sanchez
Teresa Duran-Sanchez
Teresa Duran-Sanchez  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:40
German to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 12, 2002

I´ve been offered a grant to teach Spanish in NY or Georgetown for a year. I´m not too interested because I am a translator, not a teacher, and I´ve already had bad experiences teaching in Secondary Schools in England (those little b******* in the classroom, Gosh, they managed to put me off ever having children of my own!

Anyway, you guys across the Ocean, which city is better to live in? Which University is better in case
... See more
I´ve been offered a grant to teach Spanish in NY or Georgetown for a year. I´m not too interested because I am a translator, not a teacher, and I´ve already had bad experiences teaching in Secondary Schools in England (those little b******* in the classroom, Gosh, they managed to put me off ever having children of my own!

Anyway, you guys across the Ocean, which city is better to live in? Which University is better in case I want to use my spare time to get some extra studies? I have to apologise for using the forum to ask such trivialities... But I don´t know anybody from the USA!

Thank you!
Collapse

cotasur
cotasur
Chile
Local time: 07:40
Spanish to English
+ ...
Do you mean Georgetown University in (Washington D.C.) ? Apr 12, 2002

Good morning:

If you are talking about Georgetown Univ. in Wash. D.C., go to Georgetown for sure! I was raised in the Wash. D.C. area and I can tell you it\'s a wonderful city and Georgetown is one of the best universities in the States (really). If the Georgetown you tell us about is another, please never mind... it´s just that I am a big fan of Washington.

Best wishes to you,

Constanza

Bill Greendyk
Bill Greendyk  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2002)
Spanish to English
+ ...