Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4 5] >
I'm a n00b. How to boot-strap?
Thread poster: Pedro Godfroid

Pedro Godfroid
Local time: 08:14
English to French
+ ...
Mar 15, 2012

I'm a n00b here at nearly 60 and it seems a vicious circle: I need experience to get a job and I need a job to show my experience.

I just decided to become a translator because, here in Spain, old and experienced geeks like me are banned from IT jobs due to their age (the guys who hire are old and have no idea of tech and so believe all people as old as them as as null as them in tech). I think I can do the job better than a lot of professionals because I often get mad at how badly translations are done. So bad that I can spot the errors without the need to know the original text. I often see it in manuals and movies, for instance.

I have some experience in translation, both as a translator myself and as a supervisor in several IT jobs I've had but, of course, my career has been with computers. And during that career I've translated ans supervised translations of games, technical manuals and similar.

So my question is how do I get my first jobs to show that I'm worth it? I'm ready to work for free for the first assignments just to show my expertise. I've stated that in job applications but I get as few offers as I get in computers when they know my age.

Is age an handicap here too as in computers in Spain?

--
Pedro Godfroid Goffin

Direct link Reply with quote

Pedro Godfroid
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Note Mar 15, 2012

Oh, and I have no money to spend in courses, certifications and so on. When I get my first jobs and paid, I will be able to do that but until I get paid for something, I cannot spend anything.

Suzan Hamer  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English
+ ...
My first reaction, Pedro, Mar 15, 2012

is that you shouldn't mention age at all.

I mean if you don't tell anyone, how are they going to know?