Gemma Bouchereau (X)
Gemma Bouchereau (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:25
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 13, 2012

Hiya,

I'm currently studying for an MA Translation at London Met Uni and I've been advised that I need to find work experience which equates to (or exceeds) 100 hours. I've begun emailing lots of translation companies but so far not heard anything back.

The problem I have is that there are a lot of companies who will only offer full-time in-house internships. However, I'm unable to take up one of these internships because I have recently signed a 6-month contract at wor
... See more
Hiya,

I'm currently studying for an MA Translation at London Met Uni and I've been advised that I need to find work experience which equates to (or exceeds) 100 hours. I've begun emailing lots of translation companies but so far not heard anything back.

The problem I have is that there are a lot of companies who will only offer full-time in-house internships. However, I'm unable to take up one of these internships because I have recently signed a 6-month contract at work and also I'm unable to fund 3 months unpaid work experience. So I've decided to stay working full time and try and get freelance work experience.

Understandably I'm not going to email every single company offering unpaid work because I do not wish to undermine the translation profession. However, the only way I can afford to do work experience is freelance so I feel a bit lost as to what to do. Please could somebody point me in the right direction and I will be very grateful for any advice offered,

Thank You

Gemma
Collapse

David Hayes
David Hayes  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 02:25
French to English
Translators without Borders Apr 13, 2012

Try and see if an organization seeking voluntary translators will take you on. Translators without Borders is one such organization: http://translatorswithoutborders.com/