How many SMEs in the UK do business with Europe? Please help! :-?
Thread poster: IngaKri
Apr 20, 2012

Hi everyoneicon_smile.gif

My name is Inga and I am a final year degree student in Business & Management at Bournemouth University. I am currently writing an assignment for one of my modules called "Starting a business" where I (who would have guessed that) have to open my own business (on paper). I am not planning on doing this in real life but having studied Translation and Interpreting in Germany (English, Spanish), the business I chose to open is a small translation business. I am not currently planning to do this in real life, neither do I think that I have the qualification or experience to do so but it is a good exercise and might be helpful later in life.

Now one part of the business plan I have to write is the market research where I need to provide some information about my target market/customers. My lecturer wants me to narrow down my potential market as much as possible. So I had to chose a "customer group" and I decided to provide translations for small and medium sized UK companies.

Having identified my target market as such, I now need to provide numbers of UK based small to medium businesses (the industry the operate in is not relevant) that conduct trade (import and export) with Germany, Spain etc.

I am having a hard time finding relevant data and I was hoping that someone might be able to point me in the right direction as to where I can find data or provide me with information how you as a translator would go/have gone on about the topic.

Any help would be much appreciated!
I fully recognize that it is a friday afternoon and that this is a non-business related request, nevertheless, I look forward to hearing from you!

Have a very nice weekend all of you!

Best regards,
Inga

[Edited at 2012-04-21 08:21 GMT]

Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:25
Italian to English
To start with Apr 20, 2012