Certification exam, which is computerized instead of handwriting
Thread poster: pikachupichu

pikachupichu  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 02:04
English to Japanese
+ ...
Apr 20, 2012

Although I am a JTF certified translator, (http://www.jtf.jp/english/index.html), I am seeking additional 2 or 3 certifications from other bodies such as CTTIC, ATA, NAATI because I am supposed to eventually return to Canada. (I do not know when, though.)

The issue is, as far as I know, ATA and CTTIC are carrying out only handwriting test, which is a trouble for me, as I am handicapped with severe tenosynovitis with my right hand, so that I can't make a long essay in handwriting. I have no information for NAATI.

Computerized test is fine.

I appreciate if you let me know where I can take a computerized test toward a certification.

Johanna Timm, PhD  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 10:04
Member (2002)
English to German
+ ...
Try "On dossier certification" Apr 21, 2012

In Canada, this is offered as an alternative method to obtain the coveted professional status "Certified Translator".

On-dossier certification is intended for practicing professionals who can prove at least five years of full-time experience (or two years if they hold a honour’s bachelor degree, or equivalent, in their occupational category). The evaluation leading to certification thus does not just rely on a single time-limited examination, but rather on a full portfolio, which includes substantial and varied examples of work produced by the candidate during regular work as a translator, conference interpreter, court interpreter or terminologist.

Read more here:
http://www.atio.on.ca/services/certification.php

Hope this helps!

johanna

Japan
English to Japanese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you very much for your quick response Apr 25, 2012

Dear Johanna,

I believe that Dossier is the right direction.

I will initiate the process.

[Edited at 2012-04-25 08:25 GMT]