How necessary is a personal website for a beginner translator?
Thread poster: Sarah McDowell
Sarah McDowell
Sarah McDowell  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 08:12
Member (2012)
Russian to English
+ ...
Apr 23, 2012

I am basically just starting out in translation. However, I have many years of language experience and some past translation and interpretation experience with a local place.

So what I would like to know is how necessary is it for me to create a website. Ideally I would like to attract more (and better paying) clients.

I don't know anything about web design so I would require some assistance with this. I am willing to hire someone to help me provided it's not too pricey
... See more
I am basically just starting out in translation. However, I have many years of language experience and some past translation and interpretation experience with a local place.

So what I would like to know is how necessary is it for me to create a website. Ideally I would like to attract more (and better paying) clients.

I don't know anything about web design so I would require some assistance with this. I am willing to hire someone to help me provided it's not too pricey. Is this a worthwhile investment or would the money be better spent acquiring a CAT tool or on a Proz membership?

Thanks all,

Sarah
Collapse

Stefanie Sendelbach
Stefanie Sendelbach  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:12
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
Worth the investment Apr 23, 2012

Hello Sarah,

To me, a website is well worth the investment. With every job application I include the link to my website, which is always up-to-date. I found it rather easy to set up my own website. If you use a website template and an editor that allows you to see your changes immediately (WYSIWYG), it's really not that difficult.

The costs are basically 10 Euros a year for the URL, unless you buy a template and use a paid software for editing your web pages.
... See more
Hello Sarah,