George Trail  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:21
Member (2009)
French to English
+ ...
Apr 28, 2012

Hello fellow Prozians,

As part of a move to increase my online presence as a professional translator, I have written a business-related blog of nearly 800 words and I'm trying to decide which blogging website to register it with - I'm willing to pay money to ensure that it will be given a more prominent listing. I've had a look at some of the "paid" sites listed in http://www.directorycritic.com/blog-directory-list.html only to find myself agreeing that my knowledge of online blogs and blogging is a little... deficient. I looked at some of the blogs that they have on record and it seems that much of it is marketing for individual businesses that I've never heard of - are sites like this really valid places to turn to for "thought for the day"-like comments and advice? Or would I be better off exploiting some of the finer facilities of Facebook and / or Twitter and / or LinkedIn? Thank you in advance for comments.

Yours,
George Trail

Direct link Reply with quote

Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 21:21
Chinese to English
Er, you do know what a blog is, right? Apr 29, 2012

And you do know what a link farm is, right? The link in your post is just a link farm. It's an automatically generated list of lists that no serious client will ever look at.

A blog has to be constantly updated with relevant content. If it is, then search engines will find it. If the content is not just updated and relevant but interesting, other people will link to it, and then you'll appear high in search results, and people will find you via Google. SEO (search engine optimisation) can help at the margins, but a good blog will attract links and attention. SEO is secondary to producing good content.