English, Spanish > Russian tranlator looking for career opportunities in Europe/US - advice needed
Thread poster: vadimk
vadimk  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:32
Russian to English
+ ...
May 29, 2012

I've been working as a translator in Russia for almost 2 years now (combining freelance and full-time job) and I'm looking for future career opportunities in Europe or USA. I have a degree in IT, 1 year of sowtware engineering experience, and 80% of my translations are IT-related.

My main advantages, as I see them:
-ability to learn, and learn fast (it took me a year to learn Spanish from zero level to DELE C1). I don't have much experience or formal education in interpreting, but I'd love to try if it is necessary.
-IT skills (writing ASP.NET webpage or command line script does not scare me, as I have experience in it)

Main disadvantages:
-Last 6 months I've been translating from Russian into English (with proofreading by a native speaker), I see clearly how my English has improved but still it is worse that the one of any Russian native who's lived in English-speaking country for several years.
-As far as I see now, Russian translation market outside Russia is not large, and multinational companies would always look for a professional in a particular area with at least intermediate English instead of a professional + a translator.
-Lack of permission to work in USA or Europe, and there already are lots of translators who work with Russian and already have all the necessary permits.

My opportunities (as far as I see them)
-Getting a European Master's Degree in languages, but considering current economical situation in Spain, it is highly likely that I'd have to learn another language.