Sworn translator in the US
Thread poster: Valentina Costa

Valentina Costa  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:25
Italian to English
+ ...
Dec 17, 2012

I am an Italian translator with a BA at SSLMIT Trieste, Italy.
I will soon be moving to the States (Florida) and have my green card. In order to be prepared, I am starting to get information prior to my arrival.

My question is:
Being a foreigner with US green card, how will I be able to become a sworn translator? What is the process?

Second of, which are the best masters for translators and interpreters if one wants to progress in legal, financial and bank (yearly plans and similar) in the States?
I am also focusing on good (US and non) online courses. By saying good, I mean courses that provide a student with professional and accurate teaching, include internships or work experience and give the student the chance to connect with clients/agencies.

Thank you very much to anyone that can help. Also if I missed any older post, please do link it here.

Good luck to anyone that is organizing a similar future.

Direct link Reply with quote

Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:25
English to Spanish
+ ...
No such animal Dec 17, 2012

In the US there is no such thing as a sworn translator, it does not exist. There are certifications given by different government agencies for their own purposes, mostly in Spanish and occasionally a few other languages, but it is doubtful that Italian would be included anywhere. No credentials at all are required in the US to be a translator in any language, and it is a totally unregulated profession.

I would recommend that you contact other Italian translators living in the US to obtain their perspective on how you can do here. There are several who are pretty active on Proz, and I'm sure they can give you good advice.

LEXpert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:25
Member (2008)
Croatian to English
+ ...
No sworn translators Dec 18, 2012