grinlord
grinlord
Local time: 22:42
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 31, 2004

Hello everybody,

I wonder if you can guide me.
I have a University Diploma, a BSc (Hons) and amateur experience translating and interpreting in the medical field, and now I am really interested in commencing a career in non-literary translation and becoming a professional translator. So, I am thinking in undertaking an MA in Applied Tranlation. I've checked the one ofered by the London Metropolitan University which is designed specifically for commencing (or advancing) a caree
... See more
Hello everybody,

I wonder if you can guide me.
I have a University Diploma, a BSc (Hons) and amateur experience translating and interpreting in the medical field, and now I am really interested in commencing a career in non-literary translation and becoming a professional translator. So, I am thinking in undertaking an MA in Applied Tranlation. I've checked the one ofered by the London Metropolitan University which is designed specifically for commencing (or advancing) a career in non-litarary translation and it looks very good to me.
However I have a few queries about it and I would like to know what you, guys, think:
- not having any formal studies/qualifications in translation would be appropiate to undertake this course?
- will it be recognized in the translator industry? So to speak, assuming that I obtain a MA qualification, is that enough to start applying for jobs?
- should I get the Dip Trans (IoL) as well?

Any advice will be very welcome.
Thank you very much in advance.
Collapse

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
A great part of us are self-employed Aug 31, 2004

so I'm not too sure what you mean by "jobs" (an outsourced job or in-house job?)

- not having any formal studies/qualifications in translation would be appropiate to undertake this course?