Thread poster: xxxTiago Moita
xxxTiago Moita  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 11:53
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jun 7, 2013

Hello everyone,

I'm a translator without formal training, and it seems I need to be accredited, if I'm to have any chances of getting decently paid jobs, or any jobs at all, for that matter...

My former British Council teacher is looking into options, and so far, he told me about the Chartered Institute of Linguists.

What do you think? Is there a better option?
By the way, I haven't replied to him yet, but he told me I had to go to the UK for the exam, although they say on the website one can "sit the exam at any British Council abroad"... Can anyone confirm this, please?

Thanks in advance

[Edited at 2013-06-07 11:15 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Marie-Helene Dubois  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:53
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Yes Jun 7, 2013

I think that it would be a great idea for you to take the CIoL exam. It is a very well-regarded qualification in the industry and is approximately Master level in terms of ECTS credits (Level 7), with the advantage of being able to just sit the exam.
You can practice at home with past papers to ascertain the level and get used to the timing.

I can also confirm that you can take the exam abroad. There is a list of places where you can sit the exam per country on the CIoL website. Here is the link:
http://www.iol.org.uk/qualifications/exams_diptrans.asp

However, you do first have to decide whether you want to do the exam typing or writing and ensure first that any location you choose has the facilities of your choice.

I tried to take the exam in Spain but after contacting all the places in Spain where I could sit the exam, I found that none offered the option of typing the exam, or if they did, their places had run out and they couldn't offer it to any more candidates.

I therefore ended up having to go to London to sit the exam anyway.