New to translation
Thread poster: laurasian (X)
laurasian (X)
laurasian (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:49
Chinese to English
Aug 22, 2013

I studied Mandarin Chinese for four years and I have recently come back from China. I am currently on my 3rd day of an internship at a translation company.

I don't have very much experience in translating at all, and I was wondering if any of you have any advice for me about translating, or can tell me what the first steps are into beginning translation?? Can you recommend any tools/resources that I may find useful?

Any advice is really appreciated!!!!

Tha
... See more
I studied Mandarin Chinese for four years and I have recently come back from China. I am currently on my 3rd day of an internship at a translation company.

I don't have very much experience in translating at all, and I was wondering if any of you have any advice for me about translating, or can tell me what the first steps are into beginning translation?? Can you recommend any tools/resources that I may find useful?

Any advice is really appreciated!!!!

Thanks!
Collapse

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 17:49
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Advice Aug 22, 2013

- Follow ProZ.com website.
- Think about being a full ProZ member.
- Nobody started their career with experience. Experience comes day by day.

Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz
Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 16:49
English to Polish
+ ...
... Aug 22, 2013

Look at the webinars, guides and other articles here on Proz.com. There are so many. You could probably find a dozen translator starting guides in Google, leading you to various translation blogs. Go find them! Research is an extremely important part of being a translator. It's written into the job and the life style. Wantwords is a good one, but there are more.

[Edited
... See more