Thread poster: Brechen MacRae
Brechen MacRae
Brechen MacRae  Identity Verified
Luxembourg
Local time: 15:19
French to English
Oct 7, 2013

Hello,

I am new to freelance translation and I have been gathering a ton of really pertinent information on this site that will surely help to get me off the ground. I am almost ready to start really promoting myself and sending resumes, but I feel that the resume is the last thing about starting as a freelancer with which I am still not fully confident. There is relatively little advice on this site about resumes. I have viewed other users' resumes, but most are much more experien
... See more
Hello,

I am new to freelance translation and I have been gathering a ton of really pertinent information on this site that will surely help to get me off the ground. I am almost ready to start really promoting myself and sending resumes, but I feel that the resume is the last thing about starting as a freelancer with which I am still not fully confident. There is relatively little advice on this site about resumes. I have viewed other users' resumes, but most are much more experienced than I am, so their content doesn't necessarily correspond to mine.

I have one specific question I would love to have answered about my CV. Here it is:

I have some experience as an English teacher (in South Korea) as well as private tutoring in French. Should I include this experience in my translation CV (my language pair is French and English)? I know to omit irrelevant experience, but these two positions are semi-relevant.

Any other tips on resumes for new freelance translators would be greatly appreciated for not only me, but I'm sure there are others out there in need of similar advice. Even if you could take a glance at my resume on my profile and give any specific criticisms or advice, that would be unbelievably helpful.

Thanks and happy translating!

Brechen
Collapse

Carla Davidson
Carla Davidson  Identity Verified
Spain
Spanish to English