Gizem KILIÇ
Gizem KILIÇ
Germany
Local time: 13:39
Turkish to English
+ ...
Feb 1, 2014

Hi, there

Now, I'm a sophomore student of Translation and Interpreting Studies. I've been working as an intern in one of the most established localization firms in Turkey for 3 months. I've been thinking about moving to the USA or UK for the spring semester in 2014. I've always wanted to live in one of these countries and I was looking forward to do it through the university's exchange programs but due to some reasons, I don't seem likely to realize my dream in the near future. The
... See more
Hi, there

Now, I'm a sophomore student of Translation and Interpreting Studies. I've been working as an intern in one of the most established localization firms in Turkey for 3 months. I've been thinking about moving to the USA or UK for the spring semester in 2014. I've always wanted to live in one of these countries and I was looking forward to do it through the university's exchange programs but due to some reasons, I don't seem likely to realize my dream in the near future. Therefore, my plan is to suspend my studies here and move abroad to work as a paid intern. Do you think it is a wise thing to do? My A is Turkish, B is English and C is Spanish. Do you think there are any firms that will hire junior ungraduate students?
Collapse

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:39
Russian to English
+ ...
Hi. Feb 1, 2014

Honestly--I doubt it, not in the US, to do translation. Also, you need at least a work visa to do paid internships in the US. You could try, though--perhaps in a different capacity than a translator. Translation is really for fully developed translators--it is not like with secretarial jobs, or even legal jobs where people make coffee and copies while observing what office work is all about. An unqualified translator is not of much use in a translation business, unless you want to make copies. T... See more