https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/27036-advice_on_going_into_the_field.html

Advice on going into the field
Thread poster: tfitzg
tfitzg
tfitzg
French to English
Nov 28, 2004

Hi all,

This may not be the appropriate forum for question, but I would appreciate any direction you can afford me. I am a university student at a crossroads: I enjoy languages (I speak English and French and study German) and I especially want to return to Europe. I am disillusioned in my current major field of study and I'm asking myself if translation might not suit me. Would anyone have advice, or perhaps a reference I could turn to in order to know more about the field and what
... See more
Hi all,

This may not be the appropriate forum for question, but I would appreciate any direction you can afford me. I am a university student at a crossroads: I enjoy languages (I speak English and French and study German) and I especially want to return to Europe. I am disillusioned in my current major field of study and I'm asking myself if translation might not suit me. Would anyone have advice, or perhaps a reference I could turn to in order to know more about the field and what it entails?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Collapse

Harry Bornemann
Harry Bornemann  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 15:01
English to German
+ ...
A simple way Nov 28, 2004

If you work for 1 or 2 years in a translation agency you won't earn much, but you could consider it as a kind of apprenticeship.

While learning how to handle various translation tools, you'll get experience as translator, proofreader, and project manager, so finally you'll learn everything you'll need to become independent (and what you won't learn at university).

Lucinda Hollenberg
Lucinda Hollenberg  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:01
Dutch to English
+ ...
Accept some pro bono work. Nov 28, 2004