Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Lawyer - Is Translating Worth It?
Thread poster: LegalWorks
LegalWorks
LegalWorks
Panama
Jul 6, 2014

Hi all,

I am not a translator but looking into possibly making the switch. I am a fully bilingual lawyer English/Spanish and wanted to know if this field was worth exploring. How much could I make doing strictly legal type translation work English/Spanish - Spanish/English (ballpark)?

Any feedback appreciated.
THANKS

Yael Ramon
Yael Ramon  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 12:00
German to Hebrew
+ ...
how about notary services? Jul 6, 2014

acquiring a notary license can provide you the first taste of the translation world, and smooth your way into it. can also result in a third way of making a living - you will always have at least one of them providing you with projects.

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 12:00
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
To Switch or Not Jul 6, 2014

If I were you, I would not completely quit my profession as a lawyer. From what I know, most lawyers can make a lot of money in most countries. The money that you can make as a translator is infinitely variable, it can start from zero, and can go up to many thousands a month. However, most translators make something not too far from zero if you ask me.

As an example, I am a mechanical engineer. The reason I switched to translating is I suddenly lost my job as an engineer in 2004
... See more
If I were you, I would not completely quit my profession as a lawyer. From what I know, most lawyers can make a lot of money in most countries. The money that you can make as a translator is infinitely variable, it can start from zero, and can go up to many thousands a month. However, most translators make something not too far from zero if you ask me.