https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/285962-starting_working_as_translator.html

Starting working as translator
Thread poster: Silvia Batti (X)
Silvia Batti (X)
Silvia Batti (X)
United Kingdom
May 18, 2015

I would like to know if with my education and work experiences I would be able to enter the translation profession.
I do not have a conventional training in translation, however, my mother tongue is Italian; I graduated from the Academy of Fine Art In Rome; and I hold a Master in Communication Art and a Doctorate in Theater Studies commended by outstanding English Universities. In addition, I have published several articles in peer-reviewed academic journals and I have experience of workin
... See more
I would like to know if with my education and work experiences I would be able to enter the translation profession.
I do not have a conventional training in translation, however, my mother tongue is Italian; I graduated from the Academy of Fine Art In Rome; and I hold a Master in Communication Art and a Doctorate in Theater Studies commended by outstanding English Universities. In addition, I have published several articles in peer-reviewed academic journals and I have experience of working as visiting lecturer in London.
I also translated a couple of film scripts and funding applications, would this be enough to attract clients?

Thank you in advance for your support!

[Edited at 2015-05-18 17:02 GMT]

[Edited at 2015-05-18 17:03 GMT]
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:16
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Welcome to ProZ.com, Silvia May 19, 2015