Thread poster: Ella Turner
Ella Turner
Ella Turner
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:36
Spanish to English
Aug 4, 2015

Hello everyone,

I am a new translator with a language combination ES>EN just embarking (hopefully!) on a career in the translation industry, and am interested in finding a mentor to guide me through this initial process. I already have some translation experience but I think having an experienced mentor could be invaluable at this stage. I know there is a mentor scheme offered here on proz to full members, which I am not yet, but would be happy to become a full member if the mentori
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am a new translator with a language combination ES>EN just embarking (hopefully!) on a career in the translation industry, and am interested in finding a mentor to guide me through this initial process. I already have some translation experience but I think having an experienced mentor could be invaluable at this stage. I know there is a mentor scheme offered here on proz to full members, which I am not yet, but would be happy to become a full member if the mentoring scheme seemed to be something which would be useful to me.

I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with the proz mentoring scheme, and whether they would recommend it to me? Or if anyone has any advice for me about other ways of finding a mentor that would also be really helpful!

I will really appreciate any help or advice anyone can give me,

Thank you!

Ella
Collapse

JoshuaV-M
JoshuaV-M
Mexico
Local time: 16:36
Spanish to English
I've had... Aug 4, 2015

...some time in the industry now (about a year and a half), but I have wondered about this program too and whether it would a valuable professional investment. Coincidentally, I work in the same language pair as you. I will be looking forward to what those with experience in the scheme (as mentors or mentored translators) say.

[Edited at 2015-08-05 00:03 GMT]

Elizabeth Tamblin
Elizabeth Tamblin  Identity Verified