Concerns about specialization, ATA-certification, and my experience
Thread poster: JoshuaV-M

JoshuaV-M
Mexico
Local time: 22:39
Spanish to English
Aug 15, 2015

Hello to all of you. As I have mentioned before, I am a Spanish to English translator who has worked for an agency in Mexico City for the last year and a half. I really enjoy my job, but I also really miss my hometown of Seattle. I hope to move here again with my wife as soon as I can find viable translation work there, a fact that I think might be dependent on finding a clear specialization.

Here in Mexico, I have been very well-respected by my agency to the degree that my employer happily served as one of my references when I recently applied for distance-learning MA translation programs. Based on that, along with the fact that I had been working professionally in translation for nearly a year and had been living and immersed in the most populous country where my source language is natively spoken even before that, I believed that I would have a good deal of cachet when writing to Seattle agencies for informational interviews in anticipation of my 2014 holiday visit. I wasn't asking for a job, and I made it known that I was living in Mexico City but was interested in relocating to Seattle. For that reason, I wanted to talk with people from these agencies to get a sense of the translation industry in Seattle and the differences between the industry there and in Mexico City so that I would have the opportunity to adjust accordingly and ensure my employability in Seattle in the future.