what to include on your business card
Thread poster: xxxlexcetera
xxxlexcetera
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 11, 2005

Hello Proz!

I'm a professional Legal Interpreter, Sp -Eng, currently working in the United States as a independent freelancer. I plan on getting business cards printed up. I would like to know your opinions and suggestions on how best to design them: what should I include on the card besides contact info? Any traps to look out for? Which term is more appropriate to put on the card, "Judiciary Interpreter" or "Legal Interpreter"?

If it makes a difference, my current market for work consists of attorneys who require depositions, as well as municipal courts for the usual proceedings that go on there.

Once again, I greatly appreciate your suggestions and advice from the seasoned professionals on this board.

Sincerely,

Legalace

Direct link Reply with quote

Jill Sommer
United States
Local time: 21:58
German to English
What to include on your business card Feb 11, 2005

Dear Legalace,

At the very least you should have your name, language pair, services offered, any certifications, address, phone number, fax number, and e-mail address listed. You need your card to convince potential clients to hire you by offering all the pertinent information at a glance and all your contact information (including a cell phone if you have one). Since I don't work in the legal field I really can't answer your second question, but [certified] court interpreter and/or judiciary interpreter seems to be the most commonly used terms. You may want to contact some members of NAJIT (National Assocation of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators and ask them or check out their web site (www.najit.org). In fact, you might want to consider joining NAJIT.

Sincerely,
Jill Sommer

[Edited at 2005-02-11 20:40]

xxxlexcetera
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Good Suggestions Feb 12, 2005