Considering Translation Career
Thread poster: Lisa Arpaia, Esq.
Lisa Arpaia, Esq.
Italian to English
Mar 24, 2005

Hello All,

I am new to the site. I am an Immigration Attorney in the US with my own practice. I studied Italian while in high school and college many years ago. Since Oct 03 I have been studying privately with an excellent professor. I am at the Intermediate level of speaking, reading and writing. I am interested in adding translation services to my career. So, I have a few initial questions for anyone out there...

1) Is anyone familiar with the U of Toronto's distance education certificate in Translation Studies -- the certificate includes: Italian for Professionals -- Advanced, Advanced Italian Translation and High Advanced Italian Translation. It has been difficult to find other Ital-English distance learning/online or NYC/CT programs close to where I live. Also, I have not been able to find any programs that include Legal Translation in Italian (except for in Italy, of course)

2) Does anyone know if there are any opportunities to apprentice/intern for pay or not w/ an experienced Ital-English translator either in CT/NYC or long-distance via e-mail?

3) Has anyone used these books and found them useful?
S. Hervey, I. Higgins, S. Cragie, P. Gambarotta, Thinking Italian Translation. A Course in Translation Method: Italian to English, London, Routledge, 2000

Translator Self-Training Program, Italian: A Practical Course in Technical Translation
Morry Sofer (Editor)

4)and one last question:

Does anyone know where in the tri-state CT/NY/Mass/NJ area the Italian competency exams are held? CELI, CILS, PLIDA -- the Italian Cultural Institute in NY and the Dante Alighieri Society in NY and CT do not offer them.

Thank you,
Lisa

Direct link Reply with quote

Rosa Maria Duenas Rios  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:40
For questions 2 and 4, check the ATA website... Mar 24, 2005