Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started (officially, anyway) as a
translator/interpreter in the United States (Michigan). My
native language is English and my foreign language is
Spanish.

I'm attending a 1 year college translating certificate
program. I'm preparing for a presentation for a translation
class on "Translating vs Intereting". I'm also interested in
your answers to aid me in career decisions.

I'm interested to hear your opinions on the following:
1)Is it easier to find work as a translator or interpreter?
2)Does translating or interpreting pay better in general?
3)What are the biggest pros and cons of translating vs
interpreting?
4)Would you reccomend doing both translating and
interpreting or choosing one or the other?

Your responses would be greatly appreciated by myself and my
classmates. Thank you very much,

Heather Chinchilla

Direct link Reply with quote

JaneTranslates  Identity Verified
Puerto Rico
Local time: 05:50
Member (2005)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Most are better at one or the other Oct 23, 2005

Hi Heather

I know a couple of people who are quite highly regarded both as translators and as interpreters but in general, I think the two jobs require different skills and temperaments, and most people are better suited to one or the other.

Are you an outgoing person? Are you well groomed at all times? Do you like to dress well? Can you be ready to travel anywhere on short notice, and look sharp (but not flashy) when you get there? Do you have good hearing and a good ear for accents and dialects? Does "the right word" come easily to you? Are you good at thinking on your feet? Can you stay focused under pressure? And above all, when you realize you've made a mistake, can you let it go and not fret about it? Then you might want to specialize in interpretation, which (in my experience) usually pays better than translation.